Thunderbolt Broadcasting » Blog Archive » Nine Skyhawks named to All OVC Teams

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 
Our Sponsors
The Details

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

Nine Skyhawks named to All OVC Teams

November 20th, 2012 - By Steve James

Nine members of the UT Martin football players have earned OVC honors.

Wide receiver Quentin Sims, defensive lineman Montori Hughes and linebacker Ben Johnson were all named to the All OVC first team squad.

Quarterback Derek Carr, defensive lineman DJ Roberts, defensive back Thad Williams, punter James Satterfield and punt returner Jason McNair were named to the second team. Wide receiver Jeremy Butler was named to the OVC All-Newcomer team.

Eastern Illinois redshirt wide receiver Erik Lora was named Offensive Player of the Year while his head coach, Dino Babers, was named the OVC Roy Kidd Coach of the Year.

In the other major awards, Southeast Missouri State senior linebacker Blake Peiffer was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year while SEMO redshirt quarterback Scott Lathrop earned the Freshman of the Year award.

Tennessee State led the way with six first-team selections, while Eastern Kentucky led the way with 13 total selections across the first-team, second-team and All-Newcomer squads.